The Blytheosphere

Adventures in Frugality

Welcome!

on June 19, 2016

Hello!

Welcome to my tiny corner of the Internet. Are you curious as to what The Blythosphere is all about? Well, I’m Blythe (that’s a big part of it right there), and these are my thoughts on frugality.

I’m been obsessed with living a frugal life for quite some time. I’ve tried various ideas and schemes – some successful, some that didn’t work out (but were learning experiences), and a few ‘What the bloody hell were you thinking?!’ moments. Okay, maybe more than a few of those, but we live and we learn.

Besides frugality, I’m also very interested in minimalism and living a simple lifestyle. Things like tiny houses and permaculture fascinate me. I want to live comfortably on a small amount of money.

So… you might be wondering how I’m doing with all of that. Well, the dream is often not the reality, and thus we have a blog. The blog is to keep me moving forward (sometimes kicking and screaming, and sometimes giddy with anticipation and excitement). We’ll see how it all shakes out.

Here’s my reality.

I live with my two elderly cats in what I consider to be a large house (4 bedrooms, 2 baths, and an attached garage). It has all of the creature comforts: gas fireplace, washer and dryer, spa tub, dishwasher, etc., most of which I don’t use. In fact, I am practically ‘camped out’ in the master bedroom and bathroom, and I only use the kitchen and laundry room on occasion. No, I don’t cook. Yet.

But here’s the good news: there’s so much room for improvement!

I get a good deal on the rent ($850 per month) because the house belongs to my ex-husband. He couldn’t find a ‘suitable’ tenant last year, so I officially moved in on September 1st, 2015.

My ex-husband is a great landlord. He’s quite motivated to make improvements (the house was built in 2005), and I think that’s a very good thing. He was hoping that I might eventually want to buy the house, but that’s not part of my vision for the future.

I did commit to staying for another year, though, and I think I’ve come up with a great parting gift for when I leave. My intention is to have a solid plan for what needs to be done to the house and yard in order to find a good tenant (for a much higher monthly rent)… OR… to sell the house. Since my ex-husband lives in Texas and the house is in North Carolina, I’m thinking that it might be in his best interest to sell. My $0.02.

So, what did I do today to embrace my frugal goals?

I emailed the City and asked if it was possible to switch to a bi-monthly trash pickup. I don’t generate a lot of trash, and I’m a good recycler, so I figured that it wouldn’t hurt to ask.

My bill from the City includes water, sewer, storm water, and trash, and I receive it every 2 months. It’s been running at about $50, and that’s prior to implementing any changes.

I’m pretty sure the answer to the bi-monthly trash pickup request will be no, but knowledge is power… and it’s all forward motion.

Take care,

Blythe

Leave a Reply

